Redecorating a guest room on a budget

Hey guys!

As I’ve previously mentioned, we are still getting our house to look like a home. It just takes a lot of time, especially when you’re starting from scratch.

My last hair brain idea was to give our boring guest room a make over.

Now it’s not like we have many visitors come and stay with us, I can probably count on two hands how many times people have slept here in the 6 years we have lived here. But none the less, once I have an idea, I have to do it or it drives me crazy.

That was the boring guest room we had. I mean, it was fine. It had the essentials in it – a bed. But it just needed a little more.

I didn’t want to spend a lot because it is just a room that no one will use. So I kept to a budget.

Being a small room, I couldn’t do too much to it anyway, so I worked with the room I had.

I went with a Paris theme, it’s common and Paris themed items are always easy to come by, if you know where to look.

As you can see, changing the quilt alone made a world of difference to the room. I wanted to get one of those big Paris scripted chairs but it would have blown the budget. So I opted for a small French looking chair and dressed it with the pillow.

I kept the same bedside table and dressed it with Paris themed ornaments and put a few related items on the walls.

The Paris themed full length mirror was a must for a guest room and I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it, A simple picture above the bed compliments any bedroom. And I filled the French styled photo frame with some photos we took in Paris a few years ago.

A simple French clock, some Parisian trunks and French scripted wall décor dressed up the walls nicely and I think it made a world of difference.

So there you have it. You don’t have to go crazy and buy lots of expensive things to make a room look nice. Most of the items you see here are from cheap bargain stores or Ebay. Shop around, there’s always something cheaper around the corner.

Let me know your thoughts or ideas for your own design,

Melzy

Leave a Reply

