No one can make you feel inferior without your consent

Sorry Eleanor Roosevelt, but I disagree.

I never give anyone consent to make me feel inferior, yet they manage to do it all the time.
They never ask me first if it’s OK with me for them to make me feel inferior.

So I think what you meant to say was: “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent for too long”.

Because that’s what it really comes down to – how long you let people’s comments and actions affect you.

You may not have given them permission to make you feel inferior in the first place, but they have, so we sure as hell now have the power to decide whether we want to shrug it off or not and how quickly or as slowly we would like to do so. At the end of the day, we are the only ones who can choose to let other people get to us and if we choose to let them, then they have won and they will continue to win for as long you allow them to.

Consenting or not, no one should have the right to make anyone else feel bad.
At the end of the day, we are all the same. We are all human and our words and our actions toward others, whether we realise it or not, be it in a big or small way, can shape people’s lives. And if that’s the case, I would rather be responsible for shaping it into good, not evil.

Of course everyone has their own opinion and not everyone is bound to agree with them. You might not agree with me either but when you allow opinions to infuriate you, you are no better than the person inflicting their opinion onto you.
So you can choose to retaliate with your own opinion on the subject, no doubt ending up in a heated debate, or you can choose to ignore it, therefore not giving them permission to make you feel inferior.

A good example for me is homeless people. So many people have so many opinions on them. The majority think they only have themselves to blame for ending up in that situation. Be it from drugs, lack of financial control or even think that they are acting just to get money off gullible people. Whatever the reason, people always like to assume the worst in others.
And I always give them permission to make me feel inferior on this subject.
How can anyone judge anyone else based only on what they see without having any actual facts?
It’s not my place to go and ask them why and how did they end up on the street but it’s also not my place to judge them for it.

I always imagine myself in other people’s shoes and wonder how I would feel before I say or do anything, because if I know I wouldn’t like it said or done to me, than neither would they.

Melzy

Leave a Reply

