[Book to Movie Review]: Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen

20160413_101958

I have finally completed reading this novel! Yay for me! For those who have no idea what I’m talking about, you can read my previous post on this particular novel here.

No other book has ever taken me so long to finish, but as much as I wanted to just put the book down and never pick it back up again, I persevered through it as I was determined to read it until the end; if anything just to compare it to the movie and also to be able to say that I did it.

I must admit, as much as it confused me up until my previous post, I am glad I didn’t quit as it did somehow get better. Either I was becoming more accustomed to Jane Austin’s literature, or the story itself started to improve, which made me more interested in it.
Either way, I’m glad I kept with it and as soon as I read the last word, I put the DVD in and watched the movie to compare the two while the book was still fresh in my mind.

Normally I will always (more than likely) say that any book is better than the movie. But with this one, I am going to say the opposite. I enjoyed the movie much more than the book. Maybe it’s Jane Austin who I dislike as a writer (sorry if I offend any Jane Austin fans out there) or maybe it’s just her writing I am not used to (yet).

But having said that, I do believe that if I had watched the movie without having read the book, I don’t think I would have enjoyed it as much. I do think that having the knowledge of the story in my mind, did make the movie more enjoyable for me.

The fact that the movie basically brought the story alive for me, was a great interpretation of the novel. There were a few instances while watching the movie where I thought to myself ‘Oh that’s what that meant in the book!’. It was a great clarification for the parts I was unsure of in the book. The only downside when comparing the two, was the ending – it seemed rushed to me because at one point Edward was proposing to Elinor, and then the next scene shows Marianne & the Kernel getting married. They skipped over the last couple of chapters and rushed to the ending.

I also had pictured a lot of the characters differently while I was reading and the main one which I think didn’t suit the part at all was Elinor. She seemed too old to play the part of a 19 year old girl.

I was very glad to see Hugh Grant play the part of Edward because not only did he portray the part well, he is also my favourite actor.
Kate Winslet also suited and played the role of Marianne well.

All in all, it was an experience for me to read a novel such as this one, and it is a movie I will more than likely watch again.

I will give Jane Austin a rest for the time being and focus on reading then watching ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ – another great classic which I am yet to see; before I endeavour to first read than watch ‘Pride & Prejudice’.

❤ MeLzY

2 thoughts on “[Book to Movie Review]: Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen

  1. Pingback: Pride & Prejudice: Not only a catchy title | Live - Laugh - Love

  2. Pingback: [Review]: Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen – A Reading Addiction

Leave a Reply

