[Book to Movie Review]: Pride & Prejudice -Jane Austen

After recently reading Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austin, I was quite reluctant to start reading this one, for various reasons you can read about on my Sense & Sensibility review.

The Novel

But I have always wanted to read this novel and then watch the movie as I have always heard about the gorgeous romantic that is Mr. Darcy, so I was determined to read it and find out what all the fuss is about.

I can now say that I was pleasantly surprised with having not much trouble in reading this novel as I had anticipated. Jane Austin wrote this brilliant novel in a much easier literature sense that I was able to finish it within a week. Either that, or I’m just becoming more accustomed to old English literature.

I found this story to be quite entertaining and also humorous at times with Mr. Bennet’s sarcasm toward Mrs. Bennet. I think having watched Bride & Prejudice so many times throughout the years without any inclination of the story being portrayed by Pride & Prejudice may have helped me understand the story a little better. What didn’t help me was then picturing all the characters as Indians.

But a great read overall.

The Movie

I wasn’t overly impressed with the movie, I much preferred to read this story than to watch it. It seemed a little rushed to me. They jumped from one scene in the book to the next as if they were trying to fit it all into the space of 2 hours, but I found it missed the mark a little.

I’m not saying I won’t watch the movie again, because I will. But when comparing it to the book, the book wins in this instance (as it does in most instances).

The Characters

Keira Knightly portrayed Elizabeth Bennet quite well and Matthew Macfadyen played the role of Mr. Darcy well also, but I would have preferred to have seen Colin Firth take on this role in the movie like he did in the TV series, which I hope to get my hands on one day too.

Throughout the years, in real life and in other movies and books, Mr. Darcy is always spoken of as a helpless romantic and everyone falls in love with him when they watch this movie. I unfortunately didn’t get this from him and am unsure as to why so many people feel this way about him. He seems very uptight and always looks to be in constant pain. I think he smiled once, maybe twice throughout the whole movie-that’s not very romantic at all. If he was really in love with her, he would smile at her, but he came across as rude and very proud indeed. I know he explains he doesn’t know how to talk to strangers but if he really loved her like he said he did, surely he would show his emotions a little better. But then again it was set in the 1800’s so we can’t expect too much from him. Today’s movies go far and movies back then didn’t go far enough.

All in all, a great read- would recommend it to anyone wanting to read a classic and watch a good classic movie too.

❤ MeLzY

3 thoughts on “[Book to Movie Review]: Pride & Prejudice -Jane Austen

  1. It’s “Austen.” (Sorry to nitpick, but she’s one of my favorite authors.)

    I agree, the Keira Knightley version of Pride and Prejudice is a bit rushed. You really have to watch the ’95 mini-series. I think Knightley’s version was going all for sexual tension and juxtaposition (Darcy is obviously infatuated, and then everyone is giggling, for instance). You really have to give Darcy’s character room to grow; he’s a shy and proud man, which combined, create a rather unfavorable first impression (and Austen’s first working title for P&P was First Impressions, so I think she knew it as well).

    There are also quite a few “twist” movies and mini-series about P&P, such as “Lost in Austen,” about a modern-day British woman who discovers a secret passage into P&P and proceeds to accidentally wreak havoc with the story; if you enjoyed the novel, you might enjoy seeing how others have played with the classic work

    Thanks for posting! 😀

    Like

  2. Pingback: -May Favourites- | Live - Laugh - Love

Leave a Reply

