[Review]: Orange is the new Black

Orange is the new Black is the reason I have been an absent blogger lately.

It has consumed me. I had it sitting in my Netflix queue for a couple of months and never really gave it a second thought. I only had it in my queue because I always heard people talking about it on the radio, so I added it thinking I will watch it so see what all the fuss is about.

So I did and I was hooked after the first episode. And there were about 53 episodes to watch!

For those who don’t know what this show is about, here is the Netflix synopsis:

Sentenced to fifteen months for a crime committed in her youth, Piper Chapman leaves her supportive fiance Larry for her new home: a woman’s prison. 

That is the synopsis off the Netflix website, the synopsis off Netflix itself is somewhat different and it didn’t lure me in at all to watch this show. So if that synopsis doesn’t really catch your attention and make you want to watch it, let me explain what this show is actually about and you might feel differently about it then.

Over the 4 season’s I just completed watching, Piper goes to prison for handling drugs once, 10 years ago. At the time she enters prison she is engaged to Larry. During her time in prison, her former lesbian lover, Alex Vous, also arrives to serve her time for being an international drug cartel leader, which is how Piper ended up in prison in the first place. This makes the situation rather interesting.
The main story is always focused around Piper as this show is basically about her. She ends up being a leader of some sorts and turns all the races against each other. But there are lots of other stories going on in the prison aswell with other inmates and throughout every episode, they go back to before the person was in prison and show you how their life was then and how they ended up in prison.

A lot of the episodes end with cliffhangers, so you just can’t stop watching it! Having 4 season’s ready to go with no ad’s is just amazing.
But now that I’ve watched all 4 season’s, I feel a little lost, which is the downfall to watching so much all at once.

I never expected this show to be so good. I didn’t have very high expectations, but I now recommend it to anyone. As long as you don’t mind seeing a lot of nudity, sex scenes and hearing lots of profanity. It is prison after all. But you will laugh and you will be on the edge of your seat so many times.

The only negative I have really is the fact that there are no subtitles. They speak a lot of different languages, especially Spanish, but they don’t use subtitles because they think the audience can work out what’s happening on their own based by the scenes. Which is true to some extent, but it still would be easier and better to know what’s being said.

Now I have to wait until next June to find out what happens!!!

If you have watched this show, let me know your thoughts on it.

❤ MeLzY

3 thoughts on “[Review]: Orange is the new Black

  1. Pingback: -August Favourites- | Live - Laugh - Love

Leave a Reply

