[Book Review]: The girl on the train – Paula Hawkins

Image result for the girl on the train

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:
EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?


So obviously I ‘missed the train‘ and read this novel once the craze was over and the movie is already showing in the cinema; but I am glad I eventually got around to reading it and give it a go.

These sorts of thriller stories don’t really catch my attention all that much normally. Even when everyone was reading this book, I still wasn’t all that interested in reading it too. It was only when I saw the preview for the movie that I thought ‘maybe I should give it a go and then go see the movie too’. And so I did. I read the book (just finished it now) and will hopefully go watch it come to life this week.

I can only hope the movie does the book the justice it deserves. I am so glad I decided to try a book so different to what I normally read. It was very refreshing and may have now started a new genre in books in which I will read from now on, alongside my normal genre of books.

This story was both captivating and intriguing. It has you guessing ‘who did it’ from the very beginning. Paula Hawkins did a fabulous job in keeping it a secret up until the very end. She gave no clues away whatsoever. If anything, she did the opposite and always made me rethink my suspect because she continued to introduce other thought processes throughout the novel.

I loved all the characters in the book. They all worked well together and all seemed to fit. I can’t say I disliked any of them by the end. There was a lot of monologue in the beginning and not much dialogue but it all balanced out well enough as the book progressed.

I won’t give anything away, but I will definitely recommend this novel to anyone looking for a story that keeps you guessing and wanting more. Although it’s a ‘thriller’ per say – It is not scary at all. It is more of a ‘who did it’ novel. The only way it scared me is the fact that I used to be a ‘girl on the train’ commuting to and from work and knowing that this can and does happen in real life- I don’t think I would look out the windows anymore if I still caught a train – you never know what you might see!

❤ MeLzY

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

