[Book to Movie Review]: The girl on the train

Image result for the girl on the train So as you all know, I finished reading this book a couple of days ago.

Yesterday i went to see the movie. I really enjoyed reading this novel and couldn’t wait to see it come to life.

Let me just say that I was impressed with the theatrical version but I didn’t exactly leave there going “Oh my God, that was amazing!”

I loved the fact that they stayed 90% true to the story and while watching it, you could basically read the book alongside it because that’s how close they kept the story. They obviously didn’t include everything  and a few details were changed based on the fact that they filmed it in New York instead of London (where it was set in the book), and because of this the street name was changed.

Both Rachael and Scott’s mother’s were not mentioned at all, neither was Cathy’s boyfriend. Officer Riley was a lot older than described in the book and officer Gaskill (who she preferred to talk to in the book) hardly said one word in the movie and was only seen once aswell. But I guess all these things weren’t all that necessary and the movie worked just as well without them.

If I was watching this movie without having read the book first, I think I would have found it a little slow and boring. It only got interesting and made me sit up toward the end when everything was being revealed. Even though I knew what was coming already, it still had me intrigued but the first half of the movie wasn’t all that captivating.

The actor’s chosen to play the character’s were chosen well. They all suited the character’s except for the therapist. I thought the book described him as a dark man but he wasn’t dark in the movie, that’s the only one that I had imagined differently.

Overall, I enjoyed the movie only because I enjoyed the book first. I wouldn’t have enjoyed the movie as much if I hadn’t read the book.

And just to clarify – this movie is nothing like Gone Girl. I am still unsure why it has been labelled as ‘the next gone girl’ because it is not as thrilling and fast paced as Gone Girl was. That is only comparing the movies though because I never read the novel.

As always though – the book exceeds the movie!

What did you think of the movie compared to the novel?

 

2 thoughts on “[Book to Movie Review]: The girl on the train

Leave a Reply

