Why reading is bad for me

Image result for why reading is bad for me

I absolutely LOVE reading books and can go through them very quickly at times but I’m beginning to wonder if it is becoming an allergy for me when I read some of these stories.
I’m not sure if it’s just me that reading books does this to but it seems lately when I read a novel, I must become so engrossed in the story that I become somewhat obsessed with what the story is about.

I know this sounds confusing, because it’s hard for me to explain really, so let me give you some examples.

When I read ‘The Longest Ride‘ by Nicholas Sparks, I became obsessed with the rodeo and I stayed that way until I drove to the country last winter to watch one in person and get it out of my system, which I did. Once I went to a real rodeo, I was kind of released from the obsession that I got from reading about it.

I just read the trilogy ‘Just one day‘, ‘Just one year‘ & ‘Just one night‘ by Gayle Forman (reviews to follow soon) and those stories were all about travelling the world and now I can’t get that idea out of my head. I have always wanted to travel around the world, so the idea was already in the back of my mind, but now having read a trilogy based on that same idea is driving me crazy! But unfortunately I will have to wait a long time to get that one out of my system.

This obviously doesn’t always occur with every novel I read, because sometimes there’s nothing specific that the novel is based around and for me to obsess over (thank God!)

But I would love to know if this happens to anyone else or is it just me?

❤ MeLzY

4 thoughts on “Why reading is bad for me

  1. I do have that feeling; when I read The Catcher in the Rye, I would like to experience the feeling of walking alone in the middle of the night, taking buses and alike XD

    Nevertheless, I didn’t do it; partly because I was too lazy, and another being I have lots of things to worry about the next day.

    So yeah, I do have that feeling, but it only lingers for a few hours to a day or two, and after that, all that is left is pure appreciation of the wonderful books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

