[Book Review]: Th1rteen R3asons Why – Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons WhyGOODREADS SYNOPSIS: You can’t stop the future.
You can’t rewind the past.
The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah’s pain, and as he follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever.


I am a little confused about whether I liked this novel or not.

The one thing that really annoyed me from start to finish was the fact that it was written in two simultaneous narratives. I was getting confused whilst reading it, forgetting who was saying what. And the fact that there are so many character’s in this story, made it all the more confusing aswell because I had to keep remembering who was who before I could read on.

Books like this, although it was an interesting read, I don’t quite enjoy reading them.

I found this book to be aimed more for adolescents rather than adults, it’s just a vibe I got while reading it, I’m not sure if it’s because the novel is all about teenagers at high school, although I’m sure that is the reason. It reminded me of John Green’s novels and Gayle Foreman novel’s, just not as good.

I am now watching the Netflix mini serious adaptation of this novel, and although I am only 2 episodes in so far, I have already noticed that the series may be a little better than the novel (odd for me to say – I know!) but the series is taking the story further than what the book did, it’s adding to each tape. But then again, I guess they have to otherwise the series will be very short.

The actor’s chosen to portray the character’s were not at all how I imagined them whilst reading the book, which threw me a bit but I guess you get passed that pretty quickly.

And lastly, let’s talk about the actual story – I’m not sure writing a book aimed at adolescents should be about teenage suicide. In no way did this author say at any time throughout the novel that help is always around the corner, instead he made Hannah seek help from her guidance counsellor and other school friends (in a roundabout way) but never find the right answer from them for her to change her mind, so in turn he’s actually telling his reader’s that if people don’t say what you want them to say in order for you to change your mind, than it’s ok to go ahead with it because you tried to get help but it didn’t work.

I know it’s just a novel and it’s fiction but this particular story might aswell be non fiction because so many people go through this during their adolescents and this book is a source of encouragement for suicide.

All in all, it was a good read but not my favourite.

Have you read this novel or seen this series? What did you think of it?

❤ MeLzY

 

Leave a Reply

